top of page



Founded in 1933, Betar Uruguay arises from the motivation of a group of Jews recently immigrated from Europe and the, at that time, newly created, Brit Hatzoar; a party that carried the banner of revisionist Zionism. Over the years Brit Hatzoar changed its name to Jerut and today we know it as Likud.

During Betar's early years, Boris Bacalash, a staunch Betari who immigrated from Europe, served as the movement's first netziv (Rosh Hanagá). At that time the Betar maoz was in Julio Herrera y Obes, although shortly afterwards in 1936 they moved to 840 Soriano Street. There the Brit Hatzoar headquarters were merged together with a small maoz that housed a handful of Betarim, all of them 20 years and up.


At this time, strong rivalries also began to develop between the country's tnuot, which even led to Betar having to change his brown tilboshet with menorah buttons for a version more similar to the current tilboshet.

In the following years Betar became independent from the Brit Hatzoar and moved to a humble basement on Marcelino Berthelot Street, in the heart of the Jewish quarter.

These were golden years for Betar Uruguay, since the number of haverim increased so much that a second maoz had to be added, this time at 1118 Durazno Street. At that time Betar had half an hour of transmission on the Springberg radio and he organized ballroom dances at the Palacio Salvo, attended by 2,000 people.

Maozim from Betar Uruguay


The Campings at Betar

The majanot were not a tradition that arose with the creation of Betar, but the first majané was made in 1942 next to the Pando stream bridge (very close to the location of our current majané), 9 years after the establishment in Uruguay. In this first majané, 70 haverim participated, ranging from 16 to 20 years of age. It was not until 1949 that they began to make annual majanot.

Swipe to see more photos

Creation of the State of Israel

Once the State of Israel was established, in 1949 Menahem Begin honored him with his visit to Uruguay. To welcome him worthy of his exploits, the Betarim organized an escort of 20 motorcycles and an event in the Israelite community hall.

Given the previous limitations to aliyah imposed by the English and the difficulties posed by the Second War, it was not until 1955 that the first batch of olim left Uruguay. This same year the first continental seminar was held where the Maozim from Uruguay, Argentina and Peru participated.


It is in 1975 that Betar moves to its current maoz, where it was previously the headquarters of the NCI. In these years the number of janijim increased substantially and peulot similar to those of the present day began to be dictated. In 1976 the currently known "closed court" was roofed where previously there was a wooded patio.

Starting in 1984, Betar began sending his janijim to Israel through the Tapuz Plan and the Majon Lemadrijim, a custom that continues to this day.

The years passed and our beloved Tnuá continued with its growth and development, establishing itself as one of the leaders of our country and the cradle of many of the leaders of the Uruguayan community. Today, in the year 2021, our beloved Betar takes another step towards the digitization and modernization of the institution, through the creation of the Betar Uruguay website.

Roshei Hanaga

Boris bacalash

Solomon Leinvoi

1953- Werner Leopold

1954- Maximum Dacks

1955- Gregorio Levi

1959- Ernesto Levi

1960- Nitza Benenheim

1961 / 5- Ignacio Deutscher

1965- Iehuda Ring

1966- Arie Kusman

1967- Mendel Ruchesman

1969- Guidon Klein

1970- Betzalel Feldman

1971- Herman Sonenstein

1972- Julio Ring

1973- Marcos Mendiuk

1974- Jaime Grodziski

1975- Emilio Kaplan

1976 - Lea Dreisis

1976 - Omar Burstin

1977- Ariel Hendel

1978- Alberto Norman

1979- Enrique Zezynsky

1980- Sergio Dodel

1981- Miguel Kurlender

1982- Gustavo Sapiurka

1983 - Ricardo Benenstein

1984 - Avi Greiver

1985 - Daniel Glass

1986 - Sergio Oberlander

1987 - Alejandro Grobert

1988 - Jacky Asallas

1989 - Israel Diament

1990 - Richard Kaufman

1991 - Fabián Schamis

1992 - Adrián Potasnik

1993 - Daniel Ejemberg

1994 - Jorge Mishne

1995 - Gabriel Kuzner

1996 - Manuel Aszyn

1997 - Javier Isemin

1998 - Manuel Aszyn

1999 - Leonel Melamed

2000 - Mauricio Janauskas

2001 - Diego Dodel

2002 - Mauricio Janauskas

2003 - Sebastián Kuzner

2004 - Matías Dodel

2005 - Ylan Archimowicz

2006 - Daniel Juli

2007 - Alan Gejer

2008 - Mariano Sommer

2009 - Brian Dodel

2010 - Brian Dodel

2011 - Yoel Bercovici

2012 - Matias Jurfest

2013 - Alexandra South

2014 - Fabian Zelniker

2015 - Javier Appel

2016 - Sebastian Gejer

2017 - Michelle Markowicz

2018 - Rafael Oltarz

2019 - Dario Zalovich

2020 - Dan Kamerman

2021 - Mateo Aguilera


bottom of page